The Totally Lame Costumes of Rogue One

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I last posted on here! Stupid real life getting in my way! Also, I’m still waiting for some more pictures of the Anakin cosplay.

But while we’re waiting for those I figured I’d share a little rant about the costumes of Rogue One! Now, before I say anything else, disclaimer: I’m not trying to make Rogue One out to be a bad movie. I enjoyed it, even though I have some critiques of it. And one of those critiques is of the costumes!

You know how people can be dying of thirst? In this case, as I was watching the movie, my eyes were thirsty for color! I mean, I know this is supposed to be about poor people in a war-torn galaxy. But…. take Les Miserables, the 2012 movie, for example. It’s about poor people in a bleak environment too! And yet my eyes are not starved for color in that movie, because we do get rare flashes of color- like the brilliant red of their flag and the pure white of Cosette’s wedding dress. And then it’s like one cold glass of water in the desert, and it’s beautiful. Whereas with Rogue One…. it felt like sand all over me. (I don’t like sand. It’s coarse and rough and irritating…. ) XD Sorry, I had to do that!

“But,” you might argue, “what about the white armor of the Stormtroopers, and the orange Rebel pilot suits, and that pretty blue-green planet they went to?” My response to that is, it’s just not the same. The Stormtroopers are not supposed to be a refreshing sight, the orange Rebel suits are orange because they need to be easily visible, and we didn’t spend very much time admiring that blue-green planet. Whereas in Les Miserables, the brilliant red flag is a symbol of freedom and heroism, and the wedding dress is a symbol of Cosette’s youth and the wonderful future she has ahead with Marius. The bold colors we occasionally see in Rogue One are there for practical, not symbolic, purposes.

(I can also use my color symbolism argument in the Original Trilogy. Leia’s white dress sets her apart, distinguishes her as a royal figure. That’s symbolic. They didn’t have to give her a pretty white dress.)

So, my first point is that I hated the colors of the Rogue One costumes.

My second point is something I like to call Modern People Closet Fashion. It’s when the costumes look very similar to what normal, average modern people would wear. Which is fine in movies about normal modern people…. but not fantasy or science fiction! The Rogue One costumes just lacked that “Star Wars-ey” vibe. They looked too similar to what normal people today might wear. Why that is exactly, I’m not sure. There’s just some unexplainable trait that good Star Wars costumes have. They feel like they belong.

Take Rey’s costume, for example. She is like Jyn Erso in the sense that she is not a Senator or a Princess like Padmé or Leia, and she needs something practical and cheap to wear. But, it just has that Star Wars vibe! I think it’s because of those pretty floating sheer fabrics, and the nod to traditional Jedi garb, that make me smile and say, “That’s a Star Wars costume.”

Also, the detached sleeves are a nice touch. This isn’t something you would find in a modern person’s closet. This costume is unique and memorable. But most people have loose pants, a long-sleeved shirt, a vest and boots like the Rogue One characters! This is what I mean by Modern People Closet Fashion.

Having a story based on poor people in a bleak environment is not an excuse to have lame costumes!

So, instead of just complaining, I thought o myself, “If I were the costume designer for Rogue One, what would I do?” So I designed my own sketch of what I would have Jyn Erso wear.

I feel like this is somewhat an improvement. The colors are more pleasant to the eye, even though they are more dark and subdued. The costume is still practical and minimalist and fitting to the character, but I feel like it has that Star Wars vibe that the actual costume lacks. The changes are simple, but they seem to help.

What do you think? Do you like the actual costume or my sketch better? (I’m not offended if you don’t think mine is an improvement!) Please comment and let me know! Thanks for reading my little rant! 🙂

Leave a Reply

